vegan news anti-speciest news animal rights news
vegan news anti-speciest news animal rights news

vegan-life

April 12, 2019 - The Toronto Star

Can vegans drink wine?

Can vegans drink wine?
File Photo / © Photabulous!

Egg whites or milk protein is often used to clarify and stabilize wine before bottling. But gelatin, isinglass (fish bladders) or chitin (crustacean shells) can be used too. They’re fining agents that remove suspended bits from the liquid before being filtered out.

A trend does exist toward winemakers choosing animal-free fining agents such as bentonite clay and charcoal. But short of contacting the producer, it’s tough to know if animal products were used to make a wine.

A fairly comprehensive resource is barnivore.com — a searchable database that calls itself “your vegan beer, wine and liquor guide.

Read more at The Toronto Star


Vegan-life — Feature Articles

Most Read - Last 30 Days

  1. Calgary Stampede starts again, a showcase of animal exploitation
  2. Animals - the first space explorers
  3. When Meat isn’t Really Meat and Vegetarians are Duped, Blockchain Based Proof is Needed
  4. Yoga: Transforming lives the Buddha way
  5. UK / Laws against abusing animals are about to get a whole lot tougher
  6. Lions and tigers suffer painful deformities in industrial breeding schemes for traditional Chinese 'medicine'
  7. Meat-loving Brazil joins the search for plant-based alternatives
  8. What is meat? (And who gets to decide that?)
  9. The science of influencing people: six ways to win an argument
  10. Oranges, grapes and carrots contain cancer-fighting compounds which closely resemble molecules used in already licenced drugs, scientists say

Some photos and photo services
generously donated by Photabulous

Photabulous

Fabulous Photos

PARIS · TORONTO · AMSTERDAM