vegan news anti-speciest news animal rights news
vegan news anti-speciest news animal rights news


November 03, 2018 - BBC

Brace yourselves - these nine things aren't actually vegan

Brace yourselves - these nine things aren't actually vegan
Candy containing gelatinFile Photo / © Photabulous!

First it was: "Where do you get your protein?" Lentils, tofu, seitan (protein that looks and tastes uncannily like meat).

Then it was: "If you were on a desert island with only a sheep, would you eat the sheep?" Er, no, I'd eat whatever plants the sheep had been eating to stay alive.

And then, when one of us tries to pitch vegan recipes to a food magazine, we get an editor saying they'd rather write about "killing" us "one by one". Charming.

But there are other things you’d assume were vegan that are genuinely not - and it’s good to be aware of these.

VA: Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin, PETA reports is used in some shampoos, cosmetics, as a thickener in fruit gelatins and puddings, in candies, marshmallows, and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines.

Read more at BBC

Vegan-life — Feature Articles

Most Read - Last 30 Days

  1. A Giant Net Has Been Deployed to Clean Up Plastics in the Pacific Ocean
  2. Why Fashion’s Anti-Fur Movement Is Winning
  3. Plant-based ‘dairy’ products aren’t new. Neither is the U.S. dairy industry’s hostility.
  4. Eat organic to cut cancer risk, study says, but some experts aren’t on board
  5. Vegetarians and vegans are accidentally eating animal products because of unclear labels
  6. Eating a lot of organic food may help reduce cancer risks, French study shows
  7. From pork belly to pineapple sliders: How plant-based dining is taking root in Toronto
  8. 100% Plant-Based Burger Joint, VeganBurg, Is Going Global!
  9. The ideal diet to combat climate change
  10. Leading medical journal is accused of having a 'pro-BUTTER bias'

Some photos and photo services
generously donated by Photabulous


Fabulous Photos